Skinny Chocolate Smoothie

Standard

IMG_0213
I found a recipe for a Chocolate Peanut Butter Coffee Smoothie and wanted to try it with a twist.  Here is my recipe with out the coffee ( I don’t like cold coffee drinks).  I changed it a bit and boy is it good.  Taste like a chocolate shake!!!!  I told my husband and daughter the ingredients and they said I had really lost my mind.  Well I did it and proved them wrong, they all work wonderful together and have made a great smoothie for me to keep making.

1 cup unsweetened home made almond milk (recipe here)
1/4 tsp vanilla
1 tablespoon almond butter (or peanut butter)
1 tablespoon ground flax seed
1 tablespoon protein powder (I used – Gluten-Free Rice Protein Powder)
1 tablespoon honey (could use pitted dates or any sugar substitute)
1 tablespoon cacao (or cocoa)
light sprinkle of himalayan pink sea salt
1 tsp melted coconut oil
1/2 banana

Mix all ingredients above then add about 12 oz crushed ice slowly until you get it to the consistency you desire.  I used a NUTRiBULLET which has been a great purchase and not too expensive.

You could add coffee as well if you like Frappuccino’s!

I have my protein, omega-3, lignans, fiber, antioxidants, potassium, vitamins, good fats, natural sugar, immunity builder, and no dairy for my IBS trigger!!!

About katbirdgirl

I am divorced and now married to my best friend and live in West Tennessee. I have 3 beautiful daughters, 2 beautiful bonus daughters, 2 of the cutest grandsons and 2 more coming. I am originally a city girl from Texas but now slowly turning into a country Tennessee girl. I love to cook with my husband, read, play on the computer and enjoy bead weaving when I find the time. This blog will be a mixture of all of my loves: my faith, my children, my husband, cooking, good books, healthy lifestyle and bead weaving. http://www.mydoterra.com/kathyadkisson/

Leave a Reply

