Great Texas Food: Whataburger

Standard

One of the things I miss about my home state of a Texas is Whataburger.

Deep in my Heart is Texas

Harmon Dobson opened up the first Whataburger shop in Corpus Christi back in 1950, and thank goodness he did. Growing up in Texas, the big “W” in the sky always brought a familiar comfort to me. I frequently walked down the street to the closest one to spend countless hours munching on their signature burgers and fries and chatting with friends. The chain has expanded to 10 states now (mostly in the South), but its presence remains strongest in Texas. But why do I (and millions of other Texans) love Whataburger so much? I’m so glad you asked.

The specialness of Whataburger comes from five different things:

1. The name

People from all over the state say it in different ways. Waterburger, What-A-Burger, Whaddaburger; no matter how you say it, the taste is just as good. Which leads me to…

2. The flavor

“I remember the burgers as big and…

View original post 233 more words

About katbirdgirl

I am divorced and now married to my best friend and live in West Tennessee. I have 3 beautiful daughters, 2 beautiful bonus daughters, 2 of the cutest grandsons and 2 more coming. I am originally a city girl from Texas but now slowly turning into a country Tennessee girl. I love to cook with my husband, read, play on the computer and enjoy bead weaving when I find the time. This blog will be a mixture of all of my loves: my faith, my children, my husband, cooking, good books, healthy lifestyle and bead weaving. http://www.mydoterra.com/kathyadkisson/

Leave a Reply

