It’s Okay to Cry

Standard
It’s Okay to Cry

I cry when someone has hurt me with either words or actions, when I’m angry, when I’m sad or when I have compassion for someone that is struggling.  I also cry when I’m happy or joyful and not out of manipulation like some may think.  I’m not ashamed of my tears but some may think it’s a weakness or character flaw.  I believe crying is actually a strength, a release of feelings that are with in so you are able to move forward and past the hurt you are feeling.  My friend says it’s a cleansing of the soul.  If someone is there to comfort in the first tears shed, it makes the process of release quicker due to feeling loved and cared for.  Usually the lack of compassion and more undeserved harsh words make the tears continue to flow and increase. 

Audrey Nelson, Ph.D. states in her article “The Crying Game” in Psychology Today: Women are taught to be “highly expressive” that is, they can express all their emotions, especially by crying. Emotions are a female trademark, but men report having feelings just as often as women. They just don’t express them.

“If one member suffers, all suffer together; if one member is honored, all rejoice together”
1 Corinthians 12:26

Jesus-wept

“When Jesus saw her weeping, and the Jews who had come with her also weeping, he was deeply moved in his spirit and greatly troubled.”
John 11:33

“I cried to the LORD with my voice; with my voice to the LORD did I make my supplication. I poured out my complaint before him; I showed before him my trouble. When my spirit was overwhelmed within me, then you knew my path.  In the way wherein I walked have they privately laid a snare for me. I looked on my right hand, and beheld, but there was no man that would know me: refuge failed me; no man cared for my soul. I cried to you, O LORD: I said, You are my refuge and my portion in the land of the living. Attend to my cry; for I am brought very low: deliver me from my persecutors; for they are stronger than I. Bring my soul out of prison, that I may praise your name: the righteous shall compass me about; for you shall deal bountifully with me.”
Psalm 142:1-7

“As he approached Jerusalem and saw the city, he wept over it and said, “If you, even you, had only known on this day what would bring you peace—but now it is hidden from your eyes.””
Luke 19:41-42

“Finally, all of you, live in harmony with one another; be sympathetic, love as brothers, be compassionate and humble.”
1 Peter 3:8

Compassion

“Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ.”
Galatians 6:2

“So that there should be no division in the body, but that its parts should have equal concern for each other. If one part suffers, every part suffers with it; if one part is honored, every part rejoices with it.”
1 Corinthians 12:25-26

“When I heard these things, I sat down and wept. For some days I mourned and fasted and prayed before the God of heaven.”
Nehemiah 1:4

Crying (also called sobbing, weeping, wailing, whimpering, bawling, or blubbering[1]) is the shedding of tears in response to an emotional state in humans. The act of crying has been defined as “a complex secretomotor phenomenon characterized by the shedding of tears from the lacrimal apparatus, without any irritation of the ocular structures”.[2] A related medical term is lacrimation, which also refers to non-emotional shedding of tears.

It’s Okay to Cry

Somewhere along the way, we talked to keep it all together
We masked the pain we feel inside, to make everyone else feel better
You wrap your arms around yourself and bury all your sorrow
You can’t hide from your emotions baby, they’ll still be here tomorrow
If your heart won’t let it flow, I want you to know

It’s okay to cry (Everybody’s gotta hurt sometime)
Let those tear drops fly (Don’t even try to dry your eye)
Don’t keep it all inside (In the mornin’ it’ll be alright) It’s okay to cry

First you gotta fall apart to pick up all the pieces
If you don’t learn to let it go, the pain inside increases
It takes more strength to hold it in, than to give in and surrender
Why’s the first thing that we learn, the last thing we remember?
Baby, tears don’t make you weak, if I could only make you see

It’s okay to cry (Everybody’s gotta hurt sometime)
Let those tear drops fly (Don’t even try to dry your eye)
Don’t keep it all inside (In the mornin’ it’ll be alright)
It’s okay to cry

It ain’t nothing at all
Sometimes you gotta break down
And let’em fall Baby, that’s true

Ohh, it’s okay to cry (Everybody’s gotta hurt sometime)
Let those teardrops fly (Don’t even try to dry your eye)
Don’t keep it all inside (In the mornin’ it’ll be alright)
It’s okay to cry, it’s okay  to cry, ohh

Songwriters Shelly Sterling; Liz Rose;  Stephony Smith

Read more:  Amanda Wilkinson – It’s Okay To Cry Lyrics | MetroLyrics

About katbirdgirl

I am divorced and now married to my best friend and live in West Tennessee. I have 3 beautiful daughters, 2 beautiful bonus daughters, 2 of the cutest grandsons and 2 more coming. I am originally a city girl from Texas but now slowly turning into a country Tennessee girl. I love to cook with my husband, read, play on the computer and enjoy bead weaving when I find the time. This blog will be a mixture of all of my loves: my faith, my children, my husband, cooking, good books, healthy lifestyle and bead weaving. http://www.mydoterra.com/kathyadkisson/

One response »

  1. Pingback: Such a “girl.” | The 30-Second Soapbox

Leave a Reply

