Marriage Advice from the Single Girl

Standard

I have had the privilege of meeting this SINGLE GIRL at my step daughter’s wedding. My step daughter is mentioned in this blog btw. 🙂 I wished I had the insight Kayla has when I was her age. It sure would have saved me so many years of pain. She said it so fittingly “Marriage. It has been made the goal of every American, yet rashly pursued and left un-nurtured, resulting in many devastated, broken lives. We all thought it would look like Disney showed us. And we have all been let down.” I hope you enjoy.

kayjoymarsh

I grew up the same as every other little girl watching all of Disney’s classics like Cinderella, Beauty and the Beast, Sleeping Beauty, and all the other Fairy Tales. And I never really knew they did me an injustice until I got into a relationship with “a knight in shinning armor who turned out to be a loser in aluminum foil.” Since I grew up in a single-parent home, I never had the chance to see the dailyness of marriage until recently as I have had the opportunity to live with and/or be in close community with five different couples. What I have learned from these couples has shattered Disney’s Fairy Tales and refined my definitions of love and marriage. So, if you want some marriage advice from a 25 year-old single girl, keep reading.

The first time I have ever lived in a home with a married couple (that…

View original post 1,672 more words

About katbirdgirl

I am divorced and now married to my best friend and live in West Tennessee. I have 3 beautiful daughters, 2 beautiful bonus daughters, 2 of the cutest grandsons and 2 more coming. I am originally a city girl from Texas but now slowly turning into a country Tennessee girl. I love to cook with my husband, read, play on the computer and enjoy bead weaving when I find the time. This blog will be a mixture of all of my loves: my faith, my children, my husband, cooking, good books, healthy lifestyle and bead weaving. http://www.mydoterra.com/kathyadkisson/

Leave a Reply

