Aside
My Creative Passion – Bead Weaving

I began bead weaving back in 1995 with the help of one of my great friends and neighbors back in Macon, Georgia. She was beading this beautiful item and it caught my eye and made my creative juices start flowing. I stared in awe wishing I was like her. She then convinced me that I could do it as well. I was a little skeptical but decided to give it a try so I ordered my first bead kit through Carol Wilcox-Wells. My friend walked me through the very first beaded amulet bag and I was hooked immediately. I spent most of my family beach trip staring at little bitty glass beads called delicas and poking my self to death with a very sharp needle. I beaded several more items within a few weeks and couldn’t stop. She didn’t tell me how addicting it was going to be.

My friend told me she was going to “Bead Camp” in Black Mountain, NC taught by Carol Wilcox-Wells. I was so jealous knowing this but then she came over one day telling me about a spot that just opened up so I grabbed on to it. I ventured out into the NC mountains ready and willing. That was in 1996 and it is still going on every year in September. I have gone to as many bead camps as I have been able to, wishing I could go more often. There is about 20+ women of all ages, all backgrounds politically and in every way but we have one bond (BEADING). We come together in reunion style and talk, learn, eat, eat, shop and share our life stories with one another. It’s something that I will always cherish even if I never attend another “Bead Camp”. This poem by Mary Anne Radmacher tells it all.

Stand often in the company of dreamers: they tickle your common sense &
believe you can achieve things which are impossible.

Mary Anne Radmacher

Here are some books that are great for any beader, beginner or advanced.
I always refer back to these books


My Creative Passion – Bead Weaving

One response »

  1. Pingback: The Happy Friday Series: Alternately Abled, Passionately Happy | soulati.com

Leave a Reply

