Serving Others

Standard

HelpingOthers_Stonebriar_01

We are here to love of God and love others, serving others not ourselves.
When you do this simple act you are following Christ and doing everything He has commanded.
This includes bringing people to Christ not just by telling them about Christ but also showing love and compassion as Jesus did.
These 2 things go hand and hand.
We all have different gifts and how we do this.
It can be as simple as smiling and talking to the Wal-Mart clerk that may be thinking of suicide, helping an elderly women with their groceries, adopting a child that wasn’t wanted by his or her parents, counseling someone that is going through a tough time, walking with someone through divorce, giving shelter to a homeless man, raising your own children to love Christ & others, taking time with children that need help in school, or asking someone that doesn’t have family nearby to eat Thanksgiving dinner with you.
Let’s take time think about what our purpose is here.
I challenge you and also myself to do something to give back to someone that deserves it.
Everyone deserves to be treated with dignity!!!

Kathy Lynn Adkisson

 18 “The Spirit of the Lord is on me, because he has anointed me to proclaim good news to the poor. He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners and recovery of sight for the blind, to set the oppressed free, 19 to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.”

Luke 4:18-19

18 Then Jesus came to them and said, “All authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me. 19 Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, 20 and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

Matthew 28:18-20

37 Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’[c] 38 This is the first and greatest commandment. 39 And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’[d] 40 All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

Matthew 22:37-40

About katbirdgirl

I am divorced and now married to my best friend and live in West Tennessee. I have 3 beautiful daughters, 2 beautiful bonus daughters, 2 of the cutest grandsons and 2 more coming. I am originally a city girl from Texas but now slowly turning into a country Tennessee girl. I love to cook with my husband, read, play on the computer and enjoy bead weaving when I find the time. This blog will be a mixture of all of my loves: my faith, my children, my husband, cooking, good books, healthy lifestyle and bead weaving. http://www.mydoterra.com/kathyadkisson/

Leave a Reply

